BOOT boys 2010

2010 Outings

BB1001 : The Most Perfect Winter Day

Thursday 7th January

BB1002 : Snowcumabulating
Potter Fell
Thursday 14th January

BB1003 : A Snowy Equipment Test
Thursday 14th January

BB1004 : Leave It To The Professionals
Thursday 28th January

BB1005 : That's A Lyth Record
Sunday 31st Januar

BB1006 : Reasons To Be Cheerful,
One, Two, Three
Thursday 11th February

BB1007 : Can You See Clearly Now?
Thursday 18th February

BB1008 : In Memory Of Thomas Williamson
Thursday 25th February

BB1009 : Almost a Mountaineer!
Wednessday 3rd March

BB1010 : The Beginning Of The End
Thursday 11th March

BB1011 : The Free Men on Tuesday
Tuesday 16th March

BB1012 : We'll Get Them In Singles, Stanley
Thursday 25th March

 BB1013 : The Fools on the Hill
Thursday 1st April

BB1014 : The Windmills On The Moor
Wednesday 7th April

BB1015 : By Lake, Ridge and Wainwright
Sunday 11th April

BB1016 : The Ten Lake Tour (+5Ws)
Thursday 15th April

BB1017 : The BessyBOOTboys
Thursday 22nd April

BB1018 : The Kentmere Challenge
Saturday 24th April

BB1019 : Winter in Springtime
Thursday 14th May

BB1020 : Red Screes and Sausages
Thursday 21st May

 BB1021 : The Mile High Club
Thursday 27th May

BB1022 : What A Difference A Day Makes
Thursday 3rd June

BB1023 : Something Brutal
Thursday 10th June

BB1024 : Rendezvous on Haycock
Thursday 17th June

BB1025 : The Men of Gragareth
Thursday 24th June

 BB1026 :
The Smardale Round
Thursday 1st July

BB1027 : Don't Shun The Shunner!
Thursday 8th July

BB1028 : All Around the Edge
Thursday 29th July

BB1029 : The Return of Uncle Jamie
Thursday 5th August

BB1030 : The Examination Results
Thursday 12h August

BB1031 : Nick by Haggis
Thursday 19th August

BB1032 : And Then There Were Two
Thursday 26th August

BB1033 : A Surplus of Sheepfolds
Thursday 2nd September

BB1034 : A Good One For Tony
Thursday 23rd September

BB1035 : The Wainwright Triathlon
Tuesday 21st - Thursday 23rd September

BB1036 : The Nine Standards
Thursday 30th September

BB1037 : This Is The Way The Wainwrights End
Thursday 7th October

BB1038 : A Return To Sanity?
Thursday 14th October

BB1039 : A Succession of Scars
Thursday 21st October

BB1040 : Three Old Men Of Lochnagar
Monday 25th - Friday 29th October

BB1041 : A Whinash Winterscleugh Wander
Wednesday 10th November

BB1042 : The Rusland Round
Thursday 18th November

BB1043 : The Lion, The Lamb and
The Howitzer
Thursday 25th November

BB1044 : Down Memory Lane
Thursday 2nd December

BB1045 : A Cold Comes Out
Thursday 9th December

BB1046 : Uncle Monty's, Please!!
Wednesday 29th December



BB10xtra : A Christmas Tale
Saturday 25th December

BSB2010 : BOOTSKIboys in Zillertal
Saturday 30th January
to Saturday 6th February



To see which Wainwright top was visited on which BB outing
Which Wainwright When?.

For the latest totals of the mileages, heights and Lakeland Fells Books Wainwrights see: Wainwrights.


Companions of the Boot

by Arthur Hugh Sidgwick

You who walked the ways with me
On hill and plain and hollow;
I ask your pardon, frank and free,
For all the things that follow.

Let me at least make one thing clear;
In these I know no name for them
These dreary talks on futile themes,
Dim visions from a dullard's dreams,
At least you take no blame for them.

You cheered my heart, made short the road,
And kept me philanthropic;
I only write this little ode
Which desecrates the topic.

You trode with me the mountain ridge
And clove the cloud wreaths over it;
I take the web of memories
We wove beneath the summer skies
And lo! The ink-spots cover it.

How vain my effort, how absurd.
Considered as a symbol.
How lame and dull the written word
To you the swift and nimble!

How alien to the walker's mind,
Earth-deep, heaven-high, unfillable,
These petty snarls and jests ill-laid
And all the profitless parade
Of pompous polysyllable !

But yet, I feel, though weak my phrase,
My rhetoric though rotten,
At least our tale of Walks and Days
Should not go unforgotten ;

At least some printed word should mark
The walker and his wanderings,
The strides which lay the miles behind
And lap the contemplative mind
In calm, unfathomed panderings.

And one rebuke I need not fear
From those of our profession,
That Walking Essays should appear
To be one long digression.

Let others take the hard high-road
And earn its gift, callosity;
For us the path that twists at will
Through wood and field, and up the hill
In easy tortuosity.

Therefore, companions of the boot,
Joint-heirs of wind and weather,
In kindness take this little fruit
Of all our walks together.

For aught it has of wit or truth
I reckon you my creditors;
Its dullness, errors, want of taste
Inconsequence, may all be placed
To my account, the editor's.

And haply as you skim the work
In skilled, eclectic hurry,
Some word may find the place where lurk
Your memories of Surrey;

Or, as you read and doze and droop
Well on the way to slumberland,
Before you some dim shapes will float,
Austere, magnificent, remote,
Their Majesties of Cumberland.

Dream but awhile and clouds will lift
To show the peaks at muster,
The driving shadows shape and shift
Before the hill-wind's bluster.

Below far down the earth lies spread
With all its care and fretfulness,
But here the crumpled soul unfolds,
And every rock-strewn gully holds
The waters of Forgetfulness.

So dream, and through your dreams shall roll
The rhythm of limbs free-striding,
Which moulds your being to a whole
And heals the world's dividing;

So dream, and you shall be a man
Free on the open road again;
So dream the long night through, and wake
With better heart to rise and take
The burden of your load again.



   E-mail addresses on this web site are protected by

 Spam Trawlers will be further frustrated by
 Spam Blocker: help fight spam e-mail!  


BOOT boys


This pages describe
adventures of
a loose group of friends
of mature years who enjoy defying the aging process
by getting out into the hills
as often as possible!

As most live in South Lakeland, it is no surprise that our focus is on the Lakeland fells and the Yorkshire Dales.

As for the name, BOOTboys, it does not primarily derive from an item of footwear but is in memory of Big Josie, the erstwhile landlady of the erstwhile Burnmoor Inn at Boot in Eskdale, who enlivened Saint Patrick's Day 1973 and other odd evenings many years ago!

If you want to contact us
click on

If you want to join
he BOOTboys Inter-continental
Fan Club
let us know and
you will receive
of new
BOOTboys reports.


Home Page












Click on the photos for an enlargement or related large picture.



To download a log of which Wainwrights have been done by which BOOTboy in the "modern" era, i.e. since the advent of BOOTboys click on Wainwrights

If anyone wants to claim other peaks, please let me know and I will submit them to the adjudication committee!