BOOTboys 2015

These pages describe adventures of BOOTboys, a loose group of friends of mature years who seek to defy the aging process by getting out into the hills as often as possible.  As most live in South Lakeland, it is no surprise that our focus is on the Lakeland fells and the Yorkshire Dales.

BB1501 : Tongues a-Wagging.
Thursday 8th January 2015
Troutbeck Tongue

BB1502 : Blowin' in the Wind
Thursday 15th January 2015
Lyth Valley

BB1503 : The Axe Men Cameth
Wednesday 21st January 2015
Wansfell (Baystones)

BB1504 : YIFT 'n' PODA
Wednesday 4th February 2015
Yoke, Ill Bell, Froswick
Thornthwaite Beacon

BB1505 : Fifty Shades of Gray
Thursday 12th February 2015
Shipman Knotts, Kentmere Pike, Harter Fell

BB1506 : Bring Me Sunshine
Wednesday 18th February 2015
Carnforth Railway Station, Morecambe


BB1507 : Bry's Got An Ology

Wednesday 25th February 2015
Loughrigg, Silver How, Lang How

BB1508 : Not A Nice Place To Be
Thursday 5th March 2015
Seat Sandal, Fairfield, Stone Arthur

BB1509 : Welcome To My Domain
Wednesday 11th March 2015
Whitbarrow Scar

BB1510 : Not Just The Coniston Fell Race
Wednesday 18th March 2015
Wetherlam, Swirl How, Great Carrs, Grey Friar, Brim Fell, Coniston Old Man

BB1511 : How Many Ways?
Thursday 26th March 2015
Cumbria Coastal Way, Bigland Tarn
Cistercian Way, Hampsfell

BB1512 : The Limestone Part of the Link
Thursday 2nd April 2015
The Limestone Link

BB1513 : High Cup and Bottles
Thursday 9th April 2015
High Cup Nick

BB1514 : The Rotary Ramble Red Route Revisited
Saturday 26th April 2015
Kentmere, Sallows (almost!)

BB1515 : Seven Notes To Self
Thursday 30th April 2015
Beetham Hall, Beetham Church, Dallam Hall, Heversham Church, Heversham Head

BB1516 : Parts 2 and 3
Thursday 7th May
Grisedale Forest, Carron Cra

BB1517 : Things I have learned
Wednesday 13th May
Steel Knotts, Wether Hill, Loadpots,
Bonscale, Arthur's Pike

BB1518 : The Hunt For The Red Paper Bridge
Thursday 21st May 2015
Glenridding Dodd, Sheffield Pike
The Red Paper Bridge

BB1519 : What Happened To The Clag?
Wednesday 27th May 2015
Holme Fell, Hodge Close Quarry
Cathedral Cave, Black Crag 

BB1520 : It Takes A Little Longer These Days
Wednesday 2nd June 2015

Nab Scar, Heron Pike, Great Rigg, Fairfield
Hart Crag, Dove Crag, High Pike, Low Pike

BB1521 : Not Too Shabby !
Wednesday 9th June 2015

Grisedale Pike, Hopegill Head, Eel Crag / Crag Hill, Sail, Scar Crags, Causey Pike, Outerside, Barrow

BB1522 : The Somnambulist and the Mells
Wednesday 17th June 2015
Gowbarrow, Great Mell Fell, Little Mell Fell

BB1523 : Mad Dogs and Englishmen.....
Thursday 2nd July 2015
Haystacks (nearly)

BB1524 : Beating the Bracken
Wednesday 8th July 2015
Newton Fell, Raven Scar, Bishop's Tithe Allotment, Dixon Heights, White Stone, Saskills

BB1525 : The Past President's Visit, part 1
Tuesday 14th July 2015
Blea Water, High Street, Mardale Ill Bell,
Harter Fell, Kentmere Pike, Wrengill Quarry

BB1525 : The Past President's Visit, part 2
Wednesday 15th July 2015
Priest's Hole, Dove Crag, Hart Crag, Fairfield,
Cofa Pike, St Sunday Crag, Birks, Arnison Crag

BB1526 : A Discourse On Paving
Wednesday 22nd July 2015
Pen-y-Ghent,  Hull Pot

BB1527 : Good Day, Sunshine

Thursday 30th July 2015
Dow Crag, Coniston Old Man

BB1528 : Would You Like Your Lamb Pink, Sir?
Thursday 6th August 2015
Angletarn Crags, Brock Crag, The Knott

BB1529 : As We Walk We Grow Our Brains
Wednesday 12th August 2015
Pike o'Blisco, Cold Pike, Crinkle Crags

BB1530 : Nothing To Commend It ?
Thursday 20th August 2015
Grey Crag, Tarn Crag

BB1531 : Upstaged By A 3 Year Old
Wednesday 26th August 2015
Dollywagon Pike, Nethermost Pike, Helvellyn

BB1532 : The Crash Test Dummies
Wednesday 16th September 2015
Claife Viewing Station, Far Sawrey
Near Sawrey, Wise Een Tarn

BB1533 : Bad Things Come In Threes
Thursday 24th September 2015
Grisedale Forest

BB1534 : Not So Keen ?
Thursday 8th October 2015
Cat Bells, Maiden Moor, High Spy
Dale Head, Hindscarth

BB1535 : Can I Have Your Sausage, Please?
Wednesday 14th October 2015
Bakestall, Skiddaw, Carl Side, Long Side
Ullock Pike

BB1536 : Coming of (Old) Age
Thursday 22nd October 2015
Tetherer, Gatescarth and Nan Bield Passes

BB1537 : Alpaca Mac !
Wednesday 4th November 2015

BB1538 : Plus de BOOT
Monday 23rd - Friday 27th November 2015
Menton, St Agnes, Gorbio, Rocquebrune, Ventimiglia, Castioon, Sospel

BB1539 : Call That A Bike?
Thursday 3rd December 2015
Grizedale Forest

BB1540 : After The Flood?
Thursday 10th December 2015
Brant Fell, Post Knott, Grandsire, School Knott

BB1541 : The Township Revisited
Tussday 29th December 2015


For the index pages of our various earlier outings click on the relevant link below:


















Later years (if any) will be found in due course via the Home Page.

To discover which Wainwright top was visited on which BB outing - although it may not be that up to date - or for the totals of the mileages and heights (ditto) see the excel file: BB Log.

You can navigate to the required report via the

If you want to join The BOOTboys Inter-Galactic Fan Club let us know and you will receive
notification of new BOOTboys reports.  Click on to contact us.      

       E-mail addresses on this web site are protected by

 Spam Trawlers will be further frustrated by
 Spam Blocker: help fight spam e-mail!  


BOOTboys 2015